Rice Krispy Treats with Dulce de Leche

Recipes: Rice Krispy Treats and Dulce de Leche

Rice Krispy Treats, marshmallows, and sweetened condensed milk are totally not local, but I’m posting these anyway, because they were so awesome…if I do say so myself.

I made the rice krispy treats in the way that people have made them for hundreds of years with one exception: I browned the butter first. I thought it added a little extra dimension to the flavor, but I would only do it again if I were making plain rice krispy treats. The flavor difference is so subtle that it’s lost after you add something like dulce de leche.

Speaking of which, I discovered two things in one when I was looking for a dulce de leche recipe. The first was, obviously, a recipe. But I found the recipe on an amazing baking blog by David Lebovitz, a guy who used to be a pastry chef but now writes and gives foodie tours in Paris. Most people would probably be jealous that he lives in Paris. I’m jealous that he has connections with all kinds of celebrity chefs and has beautiful food photographs on his website.

Back to baking locally next week.

Leave a comment

Filed under Not so local but still good

Leave a Reply

